National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters

Washington, DC 20546-0001



From: SMD/ Director, Astrophysics Division

RE: Non-Appointment of new members of the Physics of the Cosmos Program Analysis Group (PhysPAG) Executive Committee (EC)

Background:

As stated in the PhysPAG Terms of Reference, the nominal term of the PhysPAG Executive Committee (EC) members is three years. Four members of the PhysPAG EC were scheduled to rotate off in December 2024. The remaining members of the EC have terms expiring after December 2024 (see Table 2). This year we are not appointing new members to replace those rolling off. Instead, the individual Science Interest Groups (SIGs) are recruiting community members to serve as co-chairs of the SIGs, which means we no longer require two members from each SIG to sit on the EC. The rationale is that a larger EC has proved difficult to schedule and less effective in deliberating than a tighter group. We will resume new selections for the 2026 EC appointments.

The EC retains its broad and diverse representation of the PhysCOS community.

I am extending the term of Dr. Athina Meli, as well as appointing her as PhysPAG EC Chair Emeritus (Table 1).

I hereby appoint Dr. David Pooley as PhysPAG EC Chair and appoint Dr. Manel Errando as PhysPAG EC Vice Chair.

The final composition of the PhysPAG EC is presented in Table 3, with PhysPAG EC members serving as chairs of the standing SIGs based on their expertise, presented in Table 2.

Note: The key to the expertise of each EC member is provided in the Appendix to this memorandum.

Table 1: Current member with one-year extension to their term

Tuble 1. Cultent member with one year extension to their term						
Name	Institution	Expertise				
Athina Meli	North Carolina A&T	CRN SIG				

Table 2: Resulting PhysPAG EC membership

Name	Institution	Expertise	End
Athina Meli (Past Chair)	North Carolina A&T	CR SIG	Dec-25
Dave Pooley (Chair)	Trinity Univ	XR SIG	Dec-25
Chiara Mingarelli	U Connecticut	GW SIG	Dec-25
Alessandra Corsi	Texas Tech	GW SIG	Dec-25
Chien-Ting Chen	USRA – MSFC	XR SIG	Dec-25
Roger O'Brient	JPL	IP SIG	Dec-25
Rebecca Hounsell	UMBC	CoS / TDAMM	Dec-25
Manel Errando (Vice Chair)	GR SIG	GR SIG	Dec-25
Brian Grefenstette	Caltech	TDAMM / HWO	Dec-26
Vivian Miranda	Stony Brook	CoS SIG	Dec-26
Jeremy Perkins	NASA GSFC	GR SIG	Dec-26
Stephanie Wissel	Penn State	CR SIG	Dec-26

Shawn Domagal-Goldman

Director, Astrophysics Division Science Mission Directorate

Appendix: PhysPAG Science Interest Groups

Cos SIG Cosmic Structure Science Interest Group

CRN SIG Cosmic Ray & Neutrino Science Interest Group
GW SIG Gravitational Wave Science Interest Group
IP SIG Inflation Probe Science Interest Group

XR SIG X-ray Science Interest Group
GR SIG Gamma-ray Science Interest Group

TDAMM SIG Time-Domain and Multi-Messenger Astronomy

Science Interest Group

HWO Cross-PAG Science Group focused on science with

Habitable Worlds Observatory (in formation)

Ref: https://pcos.gsfc.nasa.gov/sigs/sigs.php